Mount-ober: Session three

More lessons from a month of mount-ing attacks.

I’m into my second week of mount month. Again, this month’s game plan revolves around gaining the mount position, and finishing the opponent from there. Technical training focus is on submissions from the mount, and transitions to get there. I’m also working on balance, and quickness in transition. 

for lessons 1-2 click here

for lessons 3-4 click here

Lesson 5: Attack like you would if you were striking

The two main attacks I’m going after while in mount are the Cross Collar Choke and the Armbar from mount. One thing I’ve noticed is that I tend to get them only when I don’t force them. I have to think of it in the same way I think about striking.

When striking with an opponent you can’t just insist on the right cross, stand in front of the opponent without moving, and continuously throw it. By ‘continuously’ I mean, literally just throwing the right cross without pulling it back. It gets blocked so you just keep pushing it forward, from the same spot, towards the same spot. Why wouldn’t you do that? Well, because it would be really easy to defend.

So, why do I do that with my submissions?

Instead, I need to send in the first grip for the choke, then I need to treat the second as if I’m trying to find a home for the right cross.

Picture my right hand deep inside the right collar of the opponent.

I just try bringing the left hand over and in on the shoulder. The opponent blocks. I bring it back.

I use my right elbow to make room underneath my forearm to sneak through to the collar. He blocks that. I bring it back.

I push the arm he’s using to block up and bring my leg up towards his head. That creats a different angle, and isolates an arm a bit more. That makes him think about the Armbar. I attack the arm. He pulls it out. I go straight after the left collar.

You get the point. See, I’m changing angles. I’m attacking from up high. I’m attacking from down below. I’m throwing the jab (attacking the arm) to make room for the cross (left hand collar grip). I just keep switching it up until I can get through.

It’s the same with the armbar. Most opponents are very aware of the armbar when mounted. That makes it hard to get. I’m no where near strong enough to just force an armbar. Even when I get an underhook I still have to get my body into place in order to attack with the armbar. I have to change angles. I have to attack, and let go, and re-attack.

I have gotten the armbar most from people trying to escape. Usually people start thrashing when the cross collar choke is semi-deep. Pressue on the collar, they push, I trap and go into the armbar.

Other than that, it’s usually too predictable to pull off.

Submit like you’d strike.

One thought on “Mount-ober: Session three

  1. Pingback: Mount-ober: Session four « War on the mats

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

